DESIGN 1 REFLECTIVE THOUGHTS

Design 1 module is coming to an end. Although I enjoyed being in the studio gaining design knowledge, of course, there are several high and low points also found during our time at Design 1.

I enjoyed the result of my Blue Whale exhibit journey map that I’ve done as one of the final Design 1 tasks. To be honest, it was hard at first to create, but as I do the sketching it became easier. The reading references given by MACD tutors help me a lot on this task as they gave me better understanding. I also browsed for other references on the internet to gain more viewpoints on Journey Map. One reference I found very helpful is the Adaptive Path’s Guide to Experience Mapping. With this guide, I was able to break down the map into 3 steps: Doing, Thinking, and Feeling during the journey.

AdaptivePath's

http://adaptivepath.s3.amazonaws.com/apguide/download/Adaptive_Paths_Guide_to_Experience_Mapping.pdf

More reference I found helpful is Megan Grocki’s video on How To Create A Customer Journey Map. This video consist explanations and 9 key steps to create journey map.

Using those references, I started to create my journey map. I just reflected on my experience during my visit at the Natural History Museum, London, and came up with ideas and the drew them on my sketchbook. As I showed my works at the studio on our tutorial session, Andy told me to combine one idea with another consist with emoticons and create a better journey map.

Journey Map

What I found rather difficult is the data visualization task. In this task, we have to create a visualization from provided data. I chose UN Figures for Climate Change Emission 2005, which showed total CO2 emission produced by world regions, which are North America, Central & South America, Europe, Africa, Middle East, and Asia & Oceania. The data also showed each region’s percentage and total production of CO2. I tried to create metaphors for the data. As CO2 emission related to climate change, which effect on global warming, I visualize it with a person unbutton his shirt because of the heat. On the bottom, I use dark smoke to visualize total CO2 produced by each region. Also, I use darker colours to regions that produce more amount of CO2.

I found it difficult because there are rules on this task, which restrict us to use design elements freely. We are only allowed to use 1 typeface and 1 weight, and just 3 type sizes maximum. As I always not very good at typography, I found it give me more difficulties. It’s not because Andy and Jackie said my data visualization is the weakest of all my tasks during my presentation last week then I have to agree, but I realize IT IS my weakest work. I have tried to work it out but could not find solutions.

CO2-Emissions

In the future, I assume I need more practice on layouts and typography a lot. Limitations, I mentioned before are not boundaries, but a tool to stimulate creativity. Finding more references would also beneficial to widen my knowledge. In this case, will help me find metaphor alternatives more suitable to the task.

I recall on my first day at the studio, we talked about Dieter Rams. On that day, I realized my knowledge on design is less than basic. What I found so far, and I do believe that MACD courses will help me a lot for my future. I always excited to come to the studio. I remember when I missed 1 session and I felt awful and thought I need to catch up a lot for missing just 1 session. The reading and blogging tasks I found as an interesting way of study. Reading materials help me understand the topic, and with blogging, I learn how to share my thought about the topic. Also, I was provoked to search for another reference to strengthen my thought. That way, I learnt from more sources, gain more viewpoints and knowledge.

Screen Shot 2014-10-26 at 5.13.58 AM

On a session of Design 1, I realized 1 thing I have missed before, Ideation process using sketches. I do sketch before but not as much as I need to. I usually sketch 1 or 2 ideas and create more written notes on every project I have done before. Learning from sketching session at the studio and one of web design tutorial video from Lynda.com, the Importance of Sketching, I found that more rough sketches would help me gain more ideas. I am not instantly draw hundreds of sketches and less notes, but I begin to sketch more and more. At the end, sketching help me create ideas for all my assessed works.

Leave a Reply

