PRESENTATION AT KIN

That wonderful sunny Tuesday morning, I took a bus from University of Southampton interchange to London to have a presentation at KIN Design. I was going to present my smart recycling bin design through a video I shared earlier here, the Free Clothes Vending Machine.

We first had a tour around the studio. I really like KIN’s workshop. It’s a place where KIN use to create prototypes for their projects. Luke personally guided us and showed us some of their previous prototypes they created in the workshop.

photo 1 (4)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Afterward, we visited the studio. We were greeted by all the members of the studio. After a short but warm introduction, we were heading to the presentation room down stairs.

photo 2 (4)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I was the 3rd person to present the design video. I was nervous but then relieved to found out that KIN and the tutors like my video. Moreover, I received positive and insightful comments. The video, according to KIN, is well presented and gives clear display of the design that makes it believable. KIN also suggested me to learn more about behaviour change in the culture if such device really exist in the real word. Moreover, KIN stated about a project at I.D Magazine called The Plastic Age, a project that aims to turn ocean plastic waste into a new resource.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES    photo

After the presentation, we were visiting one of KIN projects called Future Cities Catapult. The exhibition hall is not far from KIN studio so we walked there. I almost feel like a school kid again as we walked as group along the streets of London :D. One exhibit I found interesting was a device that aim to help visually impaired people. Using emotive headsets that measure brain activity. The data collected can be use to define which parts of the city easy of even frustrating for visually impaired people to use.

photo 1 (2)

photo 4 (2)

photo 1 (3)

photo 2 (2)

photo 2 (3)

photo 2 (5)

photo 3 (2)

photo 5

Overall, the journey was productive. I was enjoying my time that day. The last, but not least, the fun part was not to be over yet as we went to London’s China Town to have a great dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

