FMP Week 6 : FMP Workshop 1 & Produce Something Every Week

Before I begin to write this week blog post, I have an announcement to make. As a result of my tutorial session and research, I have decided to focus on Indonesia as my project area. On Wednesday, 24 June 2015, MACD students had a workshop with James Branch regarding our Final Major Project. We were separated into groups of three. He taught us about design methods, which are “Story Share and Capture” and “Saturate and Group”. In Story Share and Capture, we were asked to talk about our project, what we have found so far, and what are the most interesting things in our project to the members of our group. The other members of the group then make notes that they found interesting regarding the project and stick them on the pictures or sketches of the project related to the notes. IMG_5017 Saturate and Group is a method we use to unpack thought and experiences into tangible and visual pieces of information that you surround yourself with to inform and inspire. In this phase, we organize the notes and pictures we have created earlier into groups of related parts. We probably found and created patterns of similar thoughts regarding the project when producing the notes. Those notes would be insightful to the project that would help us create design solutions. IMG_5018 IMG_5019 James also reminded us to find more ideas regarding our project. Not just regular users but also find extreme users. What they usually feel while experiencing the problem, and also what are the possible solutions. We were asked not to restrain our ideas. We have to think about the simplest, silliest, to the craziest ideas as they will help us find more design solutions regarding our problems. Next day, on Thursday, I had a tutorial session with Andy. He helped me to create a mind map regarding my project, which I have decided to focus on natural disasters in Indonesia, especially on earthquakes and tsunamis. We talked about everything related to the problem. Identify users and found relations on them and the tsunami risk. He also asked me to always bring my works every time I have a tutorial with him as he want to see my progress on the project. What I have found during the research would be good if it is presented into designs or small publications so I can put them in the exhibition later, rather than just words on notebook that would be difficult for others to understand. Andy also asked me to start the ideation process and produce at least 50 ideas to present for next week tutorial. IMG_5038 NaturalDisasterInIndonesia Andy gave me examples of what the UK government has produced during the cold war era. It is a preparedness campaign called Protect and Survive, in a form of booklet and film, which consist instructions to survive a nuclear attack. Andy also mentioned about a graphic novel called “When the Wind Blows” created by Raymond Briggs. I have borrowed the book from the university library and found that the book is an instructional book similar to Protect and Survive but presented in a form of graphic novel. The book itself is interesting to read as it consists important information, but in my opinion has a sad ending. The characters did survive the nuclear blast, but unable to find help after the event. However, the references are surely insightful for my project. ProtectAndSurvive

when the wind blows

Leave a Reply

