FMP WEEK 11 : When Disasters Strike Game Board

First game for the Communication Design Final Major Project has done. When Disasters Strike Board Game is game that will provide knowledge for children about natural disasters, how to handle that, and how to react when it strikes. Moreover, the game introduces the children who play it to cooperation, and helping others in need.

Dealing with the illustration of the board was really challenging. I used watercolour illustration, so it took a large amount of time to finish. And then, when I found the box to put the board in, I need to resize the board, as it is too large. I created the board on an A1 paper, so it can be folded in A3. But I could not find any box I like, in A3 size. The result was, I have to reduce the size of the board to 50cm x 70 cm.

IMG_5161IMG_5162IMG_5165IMG_5167IMG_5168IMG_5173IMG_5214

Scenario cards for the game were not easy to create. I have to create at least 20 natural disasters scenarios to complete the game. Not only that, I have to create trade tool for the game, which I have decided it would be some resources cards. The game was divided into 5 villages, so I also created 5 villagers cards, to choose which starting point for which player. The last cards are the reward cards to encourage cooperation and charity.

Creating the game was fun. I just need to manage my time well, so I can get better results. For example, I can create more interesting scenario, or more adventure to be added to the game.

IMG_5215 IMG_5216 IMG_5251

Creating the game was fun. I just need to manage my time well, so I can get better results. For example, I can create more interesting scenarios, or more adventures to be added to the game.

Leave a Reply

